What's new

Anybody make your own lumber?

HoLeChit

Reaction score
Trophy Points
Fren
I would really like to get ahold of a few dozen cedar trees and make some boards. However, I don’t have a sawmill. Anyone have one? Is it worth the cash/something you can make some money off of? I have too many pokers in the fire to spend big bucks on another hobby that doesn’t at least pay its keep.

has anyone taken trees to a sawmill to get them cut down into boards? What did it cost? What was the process like? How was the End product?

Nice man!!! How are you drying?

My dad took some walnut and sycamore logs to a sawmill in the OKC area and had them turned into lumber. My brother's father in law (a cabinetmaker by trade) knew the mill, but I don't recall what they paid (plus, that was nearly 20 years ago). The finished product was rough-cut lumber, but hopefully you're not expecting finished lumber from a sawmill. My dad made a few things from it, but most of it sat stacked away in my garage, then got moved to his shop. My brother's FIL ended up buying it at the estate sale after my mom passed last year.

When the tornado went within a mile of my house and broke a huge red oak up near the road, I had my brother's FIL take a look at it. He said it would make some decent lumber, but probably wouldn't be worth the cost of having it milled--but red oak is common as weeds around here.