What's new

Rifle snaps

KurtM

Reaction score
Trophy Points
Previously posted under get off the bench, but I thought I'd make it a stand alone thread

Rifle snaps, as in snap shot! At 25 yards from either hi or low ready shoot 1 shot into a 5" circle time limit 1.5 seconds do it 5 times. Next at 50 yards do the same drill with a 10" circle. If your not shooting at 80% you need more practice. Teaches shouldering quickly and consistently, quick acquisition of sight picture, and good trigger control...... If you will notice most all these drills are on a 10" circle/A zone on an IPSC classic target.... Why? Well because on most game animals and or opponents, the area of a 10" circle is where all the stuff that makes them work is.

I’ve been wanting to shoot my new rifle (cz 527 carbine 7.62x39) and try some rifle snaps, so I called it a day early and went to the range. This is my first time shooting this gun, and my first time doing snaps. I don’t have a shot timer, so I videoed myself with my phone and looked at the exact time stamps to get my times (not perfect, but fairly close). and i just realized this drill did not include shooting at 100yds. the shortest distance i could shoot at wilshire gun rifle range is 35yds. so i shot at 35, 50 and 100 yards Here’s my results:

35 yards. 5/5 in the a zone. 1.58 average shot timeView attachment Photo Feb 09 2024, 3 05 35 PM.jpg

50 yards. 4/5 in the a zone, (one shot went almost directly thru a previous hole). 1.37 average shot timeView attachment Photo Feb 09 2024, 3 10 11 PM.jpg

100 yards. 1 in the a, 3 in the c, 1 in the d. i didnt go back and check my times cuz its a pain in the ass, but i felt like i was shooting at a very similar speed as my 35 and 50 yard snaps.View attachment Photo Feb 09 2024, 3 14 28 PM.jpg

100 yards, take 2. 2 in the a zone, 2 in the c. i either missed or shot thru a previous hole.View attachment Photo Feb 09 2024, 3 19 48 PM.jpg